How to Block or Unblock Someone on Twitter

Posted on

Social media platforms like Twitter can bring out the best or the worst in people. Great content also comes with a fair share of negativity and vitriol. That’s why the Block feature on Twitter can help keep unwanted Tweets at bay. If you feel the need to delete someone from your Twitter feed, this post is for you.

Alternatively, if you’ve blocked someone who has since seen the proverbial light and are ready to unblock them, this article is for you too! Twitter knows that irreconcilable differences are an integral part of its platform. As such, they have taken steps to allow you to distance yourself from others when you feel the need.

How to Block or Unblock Someone on Twitter2

How to Block Someone on Twitter

With more and more trolls on Twitter, it’s important to know how to silence the noise. Fortunately, doing so is quite simple. You can simply block the user from a tweet or from their profile.

To block a user from a tweet:

Step 1

Select the More icon (the down arrow to the right of the tweet).

2nd step

Select To block @[username].

That’s it! If you are using the mobile app, the interface may be slightly different, depending on your current operating system, but the effect is the same. The person will no longer appear on your timeline and will no longer be able to tweet you.

Sometimes you need to check who you are blocking. Most Twitter handles are pretty obscure, and you might want to make sure you’re blocking the right person before you jump in on their insensitive Tweet. To block from a user’s profile:

Step 1

Visit the person’s profile page by clicking the magnifying glass at the bottom and typing their name in the search bar at the top.

2nd step

Tap the three vertical dots in the upper right corner (it may appear as a gear depending on your operating system.

Step 3

Select the’ To block‘ in the drop-down menu on the right.

Step 4

Confirm that you no longer want to block this person and you’re set!

If you want to verify that the block is in place, visit the person’s profile, and you should see a small button saying Blocked.

How to unblock someone on Twitter

If for some reason you want to unblock someone on Twitter, it’s just as easy. Whether you’ve reconciled with a friend or decide silence isn’t golden, unblocking it restores access, provided it didn’t block you.

Interestingly, even if you blocked another user, you can still see their tweets if you want. They can’t see yours, but before you unblock a toxic account, consider that you can still snoop on their content undetected.

Find blocked accounts

There are several ways to find a blocked account. The easiest way is to go to your search bar and type their @[username] or scroll through the list of previously searched accounts. If you can’t remember the username or it doesn’t appear when you search, follow these steps:

Step 1

Tap your profile icon in the upper right corner.

2nd step

Faucet ‘Settings and Privacy.’

Step 3

Faucet ‘Privacy and Security.’

Step 4

Scroll to Security section and press ‘Blocked accounts

Step 5

Tap the account you want to unblock or view.

How to unblock the account

Once you locate the blocked account, follow these steps:

Step 1

Press the ‘Blocked‘ button.

2nd step

Select Unlock Where Yes to confirm.

The iOS app asks if you want to unblock someone, while the Android app just asks you to tap “Yes” to confirm you want to unblock them. The effect is the same.

You can also unblock Twitter users on the web.

  1. Log in to Twitter using your profile.
  2. Select your profile from the top menu.
  3. Select Settings and privacy from the left menu.
  4. Select Content Preferences from the next menu.
  5. Select Blocked Accounts under Security.
  6. A list of blocked accounts will be displayed.
  7. Click the Blocked button and confirm when prompted.
  8. Rinse and repeat for all users.

The effect of blocking on Twitter

So what does blocking someone on Twitter actually achieve, other than allowing you a modicum of peace and quiet? The blocking process actually does several things:

  • A blocked account is automatically unsubscribed.
  • You will be automatically unsubscribed by the blocked account.
  • Neither will be able to follow the other until the block is lifted.
  • You won’t see any Tweets from blocked accounts.
  • A blocked account will see a message telling them you blocked them if they try to DM you.
  • You can choose to visit the profile and click on the option to view their tweets as long as you are the one who blocked them.

Essentially, blocking will prevent the user from watching anything you do, including tagging other users on Twitter. You and them may see mentions of each other when someone else retweets something or mentions one of you, but that’s it.

Mute a user on Twitter

If you don’t want to go so far as to block someone on Twitter, you can turn it off instead. This simply removes their Tweets from your timeline without blocking them altogether. This is useful for friends who share too much, family members who have nothing better to do than tweet all day, or businesses you like to follow but send out too much marketing.

From a Tweet:

  1. Select the More icon (the down arrow to the right of the tweet).
  2. Select Mute.

You can do the same from a profile.

  1. Visit the person’s profile page.
  2. Select the gear icon on the profile page.
  3. Select Mute, then Mute again to confirm.

If you’re using an app and you don’t see the three horizontal dots, it might appear as a gray down arrow, depending on the operating system you’re using. It achieves the same goal.

Now when you see that person’s profile or a tweet, you can see a little red speaker icon with a line running through it. This means you have muted them. You can reactivate them by following the same process, choosing only to reactivate the user.

Frequently Asked Questions

Social media is great for many things. But it is also important to protect your peace. If you have more questions about blocking Twitter users, keep reading.

I blocked a user who is harassing me, but he created a new account. What can I do?

It’s no secret that Twitter can be a toxic online environment. Sure, you can block people, but that won’t stop them from creating a new account and harassing you again. If this has happened to you, it’s a good idea to report the account. Although not an immediate solution, the Twitter support team can permanently ban the user or even an IP ban.

When a user is flagged for violating Twitter’s strict community guidelines, the support team will review their account. If the offense is severe enough, an IP ban is implemented. Not only does this ban the users account, but it also ensures that the offender does not create another account.

While there are workarounds for this (meaning the user can find a way to create another account), it’s unlikely you’ll have a problem with them in the future.

How do I report a Twitter account?

If the violation goes beyond a simple nuisance and into dangerous or threatening territory, you can report the account to Twitter’s support staff.

Following the same instructions we showed above, choose the option to “Report” the user rather than the Block option. Complete the forms to submit the report. You will receive a confirmation message that the report has been received, but you will not necessarily know the result.

It’s also a good idea to take screenshots of any harmful posts or Tweets on users’ profiles. If the other user decides to delete messages or their account to avoid retaliation, you can file a report with screenshots on the Twitter support website.

How will I know if someone has blocked me on Twitter?

Due to the nature of blocking, you will not receive any notification or alert that another user has taken action to hide your Tweets. However, Twitter makes it particularly easy to find out if you’ve been blocked. All you have to do is use the search bar to locate the users profile. A message will appear stating that the account owner has blocked you.

If you see this message, there is no doubt; you have most certainly been blocked.

Can a blocked user still see my DMs?

Yes. Blocking users on Twitter only means that you will no longer be able to communicate with each other. However, this does not mean that past conversations will be blocked.

Managing Twitter users is simple, and blocking or muting only takes a moment to bring immediate relief. Given how annoying some people can be on the platform, this is definitely one of the bonuses of an easy-to-use social media platform like Twitter!

Leave a Reply