How to delete your Snapchat account

Posted on

Snapchat can be a great app, but you might be worried about someone taking hard copies of your photos without your knowledge. Or, you might just not be in it anymore. Either way, you are probably wondering: how to delete Snapchat account? Well, we’re here to explain.

Let’s see how to permanently delete your Snapchat account through the mobile app or desktop website.

How to delete your Snapchat account

Like most social media apps, it can be difficult to figure out exactly how to permanently delete your Snapchat account.

There are two ways to delete your Snapchat app: either on the desktop Snapchat website or through the mobile app. We will go over both methods below.

Delete your Snapchat account on desktop

First, we will see how to delete your Snapchat account from the app’s desktop website.

Once you open your web browser of choice from your smartphone, tablet, Mac, or PC, navigate to Snapchat.com.

Scroll down the page and click Support.

Once you have arrived at the support page, type “delete my account” in the search bar. The option Delete my account, will appear. Go ahead and click on it.

This will take you to a page explaining the consequences and process for deleting your account. We recommend reading this as this is a permanent removal; you want to make sure you really want to delete your account.

If you are happy with what you read, you can find the link to the account deletion portal under the heading, How to delete your Snapchat account:

After clicking this link, Snapchat will redirect you to a page asking you to log into your Snapchat account.

If all you see is a Snapchat login screen, you can enter your email and password without deleting your account immediately. Then Snapchat will redirect you to another page asking you to delete your account.

If Snapchat takes you directly to the deletion page, entering your email and password will permanently delete your account.

The account deletion page looks like this:

After confirming deletion, your account will first be disabled for 30 days. If you decide not to permanently delete your account, simply log in again. Otherwise, your account will be deleted after this period.

Delete your Snapchat account through the mobile app

If you prefer to delete your account directly from your phone, you can do so through the official Snapchat mobile app, although it does take a bit of research.

Open the Snapchat app on your iOS or Android mobile device. Then follow the process below to delete your Snapchat account.

First, tap your profile picture in the top left corner of the main screen:

Now, in the top right corner of your profile page, tap the Settings icon:

In your Snapchat settings, scroll down until you get to the Support section and choose I need help:

This will take you to Support page, which has a search bar front and center. In this search bar, type “delete my account” and select Delete my account when it appears:

After that, Snapchat will take you to Account deletion support page where you will be presented with all the finer details about deleting your account. If you’re happy with everything you see, go ahead and press the account portal link just below How to delete your Snapchat account title:

From there, Snapchat will take you to real account deletion page. It will provide you with a final warning about what deleting your account entails before asking you to enter your login details. To permanently delete your Snapchat account, enter your information and tap Continue:

Your account is now deleted!

So. If you really want to delete your Snapchat account, let it sit for at least thirty days after you initially decide to delete it, and it will disappear once those thirty days are up.

Leave a Reply