How to permanently delete an Instagram account

Posted on

Everyone is on social media these days. Everyone and their mother, literally! In fact, asking for a phone number is slowly becoming a tricky thing – why would you when you can find someone to talk to on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.

But what if you’re fed up with your Instagram? What if you don’t want to waste hours scrolling through your feed? Is there a way to permanently get rid of one of the biggest social media platforms in the world? Of course there is. Here’s how.

Permanently delete your account

So, you’ve finally decided – you definitely want to say goodbye to Instagram. No problem, it’s totally doable.

Oh, you can go ahead and close this mobile app. Yes, you can access it on a browser, but no one really does, right? You can find everything on the phone, and the experience is much better. Well, it turns out you can’t find everything on the phone/tablet app.

Go ahead, go to account settings – there is no “delete your account” option.

It just means that you will need to access your Instagram through a browser (whether on your computer, phone or tablet).

Once you log into your account on the web, you can browse the Instagram website until you find the permanent deletion option. They didn’t make it easy, however. So your best bet would be to follow this link – it will immediately take you to the Delete Your Account page.

First, select a reason for deleting your account. You can choose anything at random, but you can also be honest. It’s yours. Next, enter your Instagram password in the field below.

Once you are absolutely sure you want to continue, press the red button Permanently delete my account button and confirm. This will delete your Instagram account, along with any likes, comments, photos, friends, and tags you have created.

If you decide to create a new Instagram profile, you will be able to use the same email address, but the username is not recoverable – you will have to think of another one.

permanently delete instagram account

Temporarily deactivate your account

If you’re not 100% sure you never want to come back to Instagram, you can start by temporarily deactivating your account. This will make it 100% recoverable. Yet, all your photos, comments and likes will become hidden unless you decide to return to Instagram. This is an attractive alternative to permanent deletion, as it has the same results when it comes to your subscribers.

The account deactivation option is much easier to find than the one used for permanent deletion. First, log into your Instagram profile on a browser. Next, access your profile by selecting the icon representing your Instagram profile picture (upper right corner of the screen).

This will take you to your own profile. Towards the top of the profile screen, you will see the Edit profile a function. Select it. At the bottom of the Edit Profile screen, you will see the Temporarily deactivate my account a function. Select it.

Now you will be able to select the reason for deactivating the account. Again, you can randomly choose a reason, or not. Then you need to enter your Instagram password, select blue Temporarily disable account button and confirm.

Once deactivated, to reactivate your account, simply log in to reactivate it. As simple as that!

Block people

If you deactivate or delete your Instagram account because of an individual or a group of individuals, you really don’t have to. You can easily block people and prevent them from communicating with you. If you are tired of seeing their content, you can simply unsubscribe.

To block someone on Instagram, first go to their profile. Once on their profile screen, go to the upper right corner. You will see a three dot icon. Press it. A menu will appear. Select the To block option and confirm. Even if you confirm, don’t worry because you can unblock the profile at any time.

To unblock someone you have blocked, go to their profile and you will see a Unlock option, where you usually would Follow/No longer follow button.

how to permanently delete an instagram account

but what does that mean? What happens when someone is blocked? First of all, the person in question will not be notified. However, they will also not be able to access your profile, as if you had deleted your account. So, blocking is a good way to hide your account from certain people.

Keep in mind that the blocked person will be able to find out. There is a way to check if a user has deactivated/deleted their profile or just blocked you. If you try to tag someone who has blocked you, you will be able to do so. If you try to mark a profile deleted/disabled, no suggestions will appear. Of course, even if they tag you, you won’t be notified.

A great alternative

If you want to reduce the time you spend on the Instagram app, but don’t want to delete some of your followers, just delete your Instagram app. You will still be able to use the browser to check your Instagram once a day or something.

Now you can still do everything the app can do, even the instant messaging feature.

Delete your Instagram account

The option to delete your Instagram account is safely hidden, but Google is your best friend here. Or, you can use the link mentioned above. However, you are not required to permanently delete your account. You can turn it off, you can block unwanted users, and you can punish your Instagram time by deleting the app.

Have you permanently deleted your account? Or decided to disable it instead? Tell us why. Check out the comments under this entry and feel free to join the discussion.

Leave a Reply