How to reset your Instagram account

Posted on

Thanks to its easy photo and video sharing capabilities, Instagram has become an incredibly popular and must-have social media app. However, there may come a time when you decide to quit the app, or you need to find a way to regain access to the app.

If you want to reset something on your Instagram account, you’re probably looking for a way to reset your username, password, email address, or phone number. Or maybe you’re looking for a way to reset your entire account, deleting all your old photos, likes, and followers.

Whatever your reasons for being here, we’ve got you covered – from fixing those login credentials to cleaning the slate clean. Let’s see how you can reset your Instagram account quickly and easily.

How to Reset Your Instagram Password

To get started, let’s first see how to reset your password, as this is one of the most common problems faced by Instagram users. If your account is locked out and you can’t log in to Instagram, we have some suggestions.

First, if you have linked your Instagram and Facebook account, try logging in with your Facebook profile. Logging in with Facebook may be all you need to get back to your account, where you can change and update your password. Follow these steps to reset your password:

  1. Faucet “Forgot your password?”

  2. You will have three options: “Username”, “Phone”, and “Connect with Facebook.”

  3. If you know your Facebook ID and it is connected to your Instagram, select this option.

  4. Otherwise, enter your username, email address, or phone number. You will receive an email address with a link to reset your password and log back into your account.

If you don’t receive a link to reset your password, you may have been hacked and the hacker has changed your account information to prevent you from regaining access. You may also not remember the original username, email address, or phone number you used for the account.

If so, don’t worry, there is another option.

  1. Open the app.

  2. Faucet “Forgot your password?”

  3. Faucet “Need help?”

  4. Fill in the information on the screen, then press ” Ask for help “.

Fill in the information as much information as you can. The more you are convinced that you are the rightful owner of the account, the more likely it is that Instagram will decide to give you access to it. Include any additional details the security team might need to help them make an accurate decision.

However, keep in mind that this may not work. Instagram works hard to make sure people can’t access accounts they don’t have, so they should exercise caution when asked for additional help logging in. If you cannot prove that you are the true owner of the account, you may not be able to revert to your account.

How to delete all your Instagram photos

This is where things get a little complicated. Ideally, Instagram would allow you to mass delete posts and photos. Unfortunately, this is simply not the case. Instagram not only overlooks an option to delete all your posts at once, but also makes it harder to use third-party services to delete all posts.

Use third-party apps

At one time, you could search for Instagram cleaners on Apple App Store and Google Play Store and a number of reliable apps appeared. However, in September 2021, many of our trusted options disappeared. Although some remain, not all are trustworthy. Before using any of the cleaning apps available, be sure to read the reviews.

These apps will need access to your Instagram account, and some less reputable options may cause more problems. The apps we found most useful are:

While installing these apps, you will need to log in with your Instagram credentials. Instagram will send you a login verification code as if you were logging into a new web browser. Confirm this code and follow the steps to delete all your messages.

Most apps have a similar layout and functionality, with a “Select All” option to delete all your messages.

  1. Download and install the app from the App Store.

  2. Log in with your Instagram credentials.

  3. Go to “Media” tab along the bottom row of icons.

  4. Tap all the photos you want to delete.

  5. Faucet “To delete.”

This makes a fresh start on Instagram an easy feat. We also have an article here that explores more methods to delete all your Instagram posts more easily.

If you want to reset your Instagram account without using third-party tools, you will need to delete each post manually. But it will take a long time depending on how many messages you have.

Archive your old messages

Before you go crazy deleting everything, know that you can easily archive old photos. Archiving means no one can see them except you. Essentially, it allows you to hide photos without actually getting rid of them.

To archive a photo, follow these steps:

  1. Open the photo you want to archive.

  2. Press the “three horizontal dots” in the upper right corner.

  3. Faucet “Archive.”

To view archived photos, go to your profile and tap on the three horizontal lines. Tap on the “Archive” option. There you can see all your previous stories and archived photos. Tap the “Archived Stories” option at the top of the page to choose between your stories, posts, and live content.

How to delete your account and reopen it

If you want to completely erase this thing and every last bit of your Instagram account, you can do that from the app itself. Note that following the instructions below will permanently delete all your comments and likes, as well as reset your subscriber account to zero.

Still interested? Start by deleting your Instagram account.

  1. Go to the special Delete Your Account page on your mobile device or desktop computer.

  2. Select a deletion reason from the drop-down menu.

  3. Enter your account password again.

  4. Click or tap “Permanently delete my account”.

To note: If you choose this method, you will have to wait 14 days to reuse your username.

You can now create a new account with the same username, unless someone has found your username in the meantime. Once you get your new account, it will be like a whole new account. Sometimes a fresh start is just what the doctor ordered.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I reactivate my Instagram account?

If you have temporarily deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging in with the same credentials. If you have permanently deactivated your account, you cannot reactivate it. Assuming there were issues and your account was deleted by a hacker or Instagram, contact the Instagram support team for assistance.

Can I create a new account with the same login information?

Unfortunately, the answer is no. You cannot activate a completely new account with the same username you had before.

Why am I blocked on my Instagram account?

Whether your account says the password is incorrect or Instagram has disabled your account, there are several reasons why your account is inaccessible. If you’ve tried the steps above and can’t access your account, contact Instagram support. Also check your emails for Instagram messages. This can give you insight into whether you’ve broken community guidelines or your account has been hacked.

If I delete my Facebook account, how do I access Instagram?

If you choose to delete your Facebook account, but this is also the login option for Instagram, you will need to unlink the accounts before deactivating your Facebook page. To do this, go to Settings on Instagram, click on “Account”, then tap on “Linked Accounts”. Set up a new username and password, then securely delete your Facebook account.

Can I delete all my Instagram posts at once?

While you can’t delete all of your Instagram posts at once within the app, there are a few workarounds. If you want to delete everything at once, we have an article outlining those workarounds here. But, if you want to use the Instagram app, you will have to delete each post one by one.

Final Thoughts

Instagram has become a go-to app on almost every smartphone. While it’s a great app for sharing photos and videos with friends, family, and followers, you might decide one day it’s time to start fresh.

If so, the methods described above can be used to quickly and easily reset your Instagram account so that you can start using the app again as you wish.

Leave a Reply