Google has released an experimental feature that is Android’s long-awaited answer to Apple’s AirDrop feature for wirelessly sending and sharing files between devices.
Currently the Android service called Close the sharing feature in a limited beta for users who have subscribed to the Google Play Services beta.
Apple AirDrop allows users to share files between iOS and macOS devices if they are on the same Wi-Fi network or within Bluetooth range.
According to XDA-Developers, Close Sharing enables file sharing using cellular data and WiFi or without the Internet. The user must configure the Close Sharing function so that the device is visible to all contacts or certain contacts or hidden. Close sharing requires the activation of Bluetooth services and geolocation.
Close Sharing differs from AirDrop in that the shared file is served to Android users through the app that supports it. For example, the shared tweet will open in the recipient’s Twitter app, while photos will open in the Google Photos app.
Recently, we have seen that Android and iOS are copying each other’s features for the common good. We have seen many iOS 14 features such as widgets and tweaked Android-inspired default apps. Now, Google offers a “close sharing feature” that works as an alternative to Airdrop for Android. Close Sharing only uses Bluetooth and WiFi, but it connects and shares files much faster than regular Bluetooth transmission due to the addition of WiFi connectivity. Anyway, this feature is not quite the same as Airdrop because files can only be sent to people in your contacts.
Here’s how to get started with Close Sharing.
Getting Started with Close Sharing on Android
As of now, Close Up Sharing is available in beta only. If you’re ready to give it a try, you can sign up for a trial of using Google Play Services and update the app afterwards. Since this feature is only available for few users, you may not get it even if you are using the trial version. Google says everyone with Android Marshmellow and later can get the feature when it’s publicly released.
Once the app is updated, you can open the quick settings panel to find the feature. Click on it to start. A pop-up window will now appear to enable the Close Sharing feature.
If you can’t find the icon under Quick Settings, or if you have a Xiaomi phone, find the Close Sharing option in the Settings app, you can just search by name or open Settings -> Google -> Phone Preferences. ‘device -> Close sharing.
Click on the profile picture if you want to change the Google account that is synced with it. Remember that only people who have your email address can share with you. Click on the device name to edit the name that will be visible to other devices. In the section artificial vision , you can choose who can share files with you. You can either choose All Contacts or select Specific contacts Or you can completely disable the feature by selecting an option hidden.
Once done, click “use. That’s it, closed sharing will be enabled.
By default, Close Sharing uses mobile data on your device for faster transfer speeds. But you can change this by clicking on the profile picture while sharing -> Data and choosing either WiFi only to use the wireless network, or disable Internet use completely by selecting the “WiFi only” option.without internet.
How to Share Files Using Closed Sharing
With Close Sharing, you can share any type of file. Simply select the file and click to share Close-up sharing will appear as one of the options on the Share page.
Click on Share closely on the sharing page and it will start searching for supported devices around you. Remember that you need to add the email id of the person you want to share the file with in your contacts for it to show up. Just tap on the contact that appears and that’s it, the file will be shared.
Receive files with close sharing
If the person sending you the file has your email id in their contacts, you will receive a notification”Nearby device is sharing” which indicates that someone is trying to share files with you. You can tap the notification so they can see your device while you’re sharing. He can just tap your device name to start sending the file. You can see the file name and accept it. Just click Acceptance to start receiving.
This feature is somewhat similar to Airdrop, but with additional requirements, as the user must have an email id to share files.