What does the “Your turn” notification mean in Hinge?

Posted on

Hinge has many useful features that other dating apps don’t offer. For example, these “quick replies” can reveal a lot about a person, even if they are brief. But what is this Your Turn notification?

If you’ve seen it recently on your profile, you might not know what Your turn means. Keep reading this article to learn why the notification keeps popping up and what to do about it.

Your turn notification

Sometimes you just forget to reply to a message. That doesn’t mean you don’t want it! That’s why Hinge provides a reminder to let you know that you have a pending message that you haven’t replied to yet.

Your Turn is a notification you’ll receive when it’s your turn to send a similar message or comment. You will see two different badges on the app icon on your phone’s home screen. Red means you have new likes to check, while blue reminds you to reply to a message.

The Your Turn notification does not mean you have to respond. If you no longer feel like chatting with a user, or if you don’t want to return the like and match a user, you can unlink them or just ignore the like.

Hinge introduced this feature to reduce “ghosting” – disappearing without explanation and never replying to a message. Apparently, the Your Turn notification helps people connect more efficiently. You can often miss an opportunity to meet someone because you don’t respond in time. After all, match requests don’t last forever. Even Hinge’s CEO confirmed that the number of “ghosts” decreased after adding this feature.

However, this little reminder doesn’t seem to help if your match doesn’t like you back and doesn’t want to respond to your message.

hinge turn notification what does it mean

Can I disable this notification?

You can turn off the notification by replying to the message or hiding the user. However, you can’t completely disable the feature, so Your Turn notifications will still pop up whenever it’s your turn to interact with someone.

What you can do is manage all notifications coming from Hinge. If you want to temporarily suspend them while you’re in a meeting, for example, or if you don’t want to see them at all, follow the steps below:

  1. Open Settings by tapping the icon at the bottom of your screen.
  2. Select Account to access profile settings.
  3. Find the Push notifications option and turn off the toggle.

Keep your inbox clean

It seems like Hinge puts a lot of effort into making this app a great experience for all users. In addition to the Your turn reminder, another option has been added to the application. This helps you keep your inbox clean and limits the chances of you ghosting someone. We’re talking about hiding your matches in your inbox.

hinge your turn notification

How to Hide Someone on the Hinge

Hiding a match doesn’t mean you never want to communicate with them. It just means you don’t have time to do it right now. It also keeps track of your posts and likes. Therefore, you are less likely to forget to reply to a potential match.

Note that a Hinge chat will be automatically hidden if you don’t communicate with a user for more than 14 days. But if you don’t want to wait two weeks, here’s how:

  1. Open Hinge on your mobile device.
  2. Tap the Your Turn notification to see what message you have pending.
  3. Swipe left and select Hide.

The hidden chat will now be located at the bottom, under Hidden Matches. You can view it whenever you are ready to continue chatting with that user. While a chat is hidden, you will not receive messages from the hidden match.

How to Unlink Someone on Hinge

Another option you might want to use is not matching a Hinge user. If you find out that they don’t suit you or bother you with messages, you can remove them from your matches. Your profile on Hinge will no longer be visible to them from now on.

Be careful with this option, however. Only unlink a person if you are sure, because removing people is permanent.

To unlink a Hinge user, open their profile and follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to the upper right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon to open a menu.
  3. You will see the Unmatch option in this menu, so select it to remove the person from your matches.

It’s your turn now!

If a Hinge message is from someone you love, you will definitely appreciate the existence of this feature. Originally designed for forgetful people, the application now contains 25% less “ghosts”. The conclusion – we are quite forgetful even when chatting with someone we love.

If you don’t want to reply to a message, you can easily hide it or delete a match from your profile. Either way, the It’s Your Turn notification means it’s your turn to take action.

Do you often forget to reply to a message on Hinge? Share your experiences in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply